The BJP fielded 36 candidates who joined the party six months ago

The BJP fielded 36 candidates who joined the party six months ago

Now a few days left for the first phase of voting in West Bengal. The BJP has so far released a list of 282 candidates for the eight-stage assembly elections in the state. Of the 282 announced candidates, 46 have joined the BJP less than two years after the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. 34 of them are from the Trinamall Conference (TMC). There are six candidates from CPM, four from Congress, and one each from the Forwarding Bloc and the Gurkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM). Meanwhile, out of 46 candidates who joined the BJP in the past two years, 36 faces have joined the BJP in the past six months.

We cannot give tickets to everyone – Samik Bhattacharya

Of a total of 294 seats in the House of Representatives in Bengal, the BJP announced its candidates for 282 seats, while one seat (Paghmundi) in Borolia province was left to its coalition partner Azo. BJP spokesman, Samik Bhattacharya, said that Bengal had only 294 seats. We cannot give tickets to everyone. Some will meet and some will not. We have to accept him. Those who vandalize, tear up posters, and set fire to party offices cannot be members of any political party. We do not endorse such behavior and strongly condemn it. “

Party workers and party leaders disappointed with not getting tickets

When the BJP released the list of candidates in the first two stages, which included counties such as Purulia, Bankura, East and West Midnapore. Later on March 14th, the BJP issued its second list, after which party workers and leaders were disappointed. Party workers from Hooghly, South 24 Parganas and Howrah counties staged a sit-in outside the BJP office to demand change of candidates. Sawan Chatterjee and his assistant Besakhi Banerjee left the party due to lack of tickets.

Conspiracy and betrayal will not last long – Besakhi Banerjee

Sawan Chatterjee was expected to join from Baisakhi Burba, which he won as TMC MLA in 2011 and 2016. Sawan Chatterjee said in a letter to BJP Chairman Dilip Ghosh that he and Baisakhi Banerjee no longer wish to join the party. Baishaki Banerjee said in a Facebook post that she was offended for not getting the ticket and said the conspiracy and betrayal would not last long.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *